West Indies v India
India in West Indies and Bermuda 1996/97 (2nd Test)
VenueQueen's Park Oval, Port of Spain on 14th, 15th, 16th, 17th, 18th March 1997 (5-day match)
Balls per over6
TossWest Indies won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresLH Barker, SG Randell
TV umpireRG Gosein
RefereePL van der Merwe
Close of play day 1West Indies (1) 239/7 (Holder 71*, Rose 13*)
Close of play day 2India (1) 171/1 (Sidhu 102*, Dravid 57*)
Close of play day 3India (1) 367/3 (Sidhu 196*, Ganguly 3*)
Close of play day 4West Indies (2) 118/1 (Williams 63*, Chanderpaul 39*)
Man of the MatchNS Sidhu

West Indies first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SL Campbellc Prasad b Kumble835491- 
SC Williamsc Dravid b Kumble1827374- 
S Chanderpaulc Mongia b Prasad428212421 
BC Larac Azharuddin b Joshi1451651- 
CL Hooperc Azharuddin b Kumble408511511 
RIC Holderb Joshi912382937- 
+JR Murrayc and b Kumble1124292- 
CEL Ambrosec Dravid b Kumble1655662- 
FA Rosec Dravid b Joshi348513922 
*CA Walshc Mongia b Ganguly033-- 
M Dillonnot out036-- 
Extras(20 lb, 2 nb)22
Total(all out, 490 minutes, 114.3 overs)296
Fall of wickets:
1-26 (Williams), 2-29 (Campbell), 3-59 (Lara), 4-99 (Chanderpaul), 5-149 (Hooper), 6-169 (Murray), 7-220 (Ambrose), 8-289 (Holder), 9-290 (Walsh), 10-296 (Rose)
India bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Prasad26   9541-1
Kuruvilla22   9360--
Kumble39   81045--
Ganguly5   331-1

India first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
VVS Laxmanlbw b Ambrose022-- 
NS Sidhub Ambrose201491673191 
RS Dravidb Ambrose571822684- 
*SR Tendulkarrun out (Walsh)882333069- 
SC Gangulyc Chanderpaul b Rose65565-- 
M Azharuddinb Ambrose164-- 
+NR Mongiab Dillon1739622- 
A Kumblenot out1246671- 
SB Joshic Walsh b Ambrose2441631- 
A Kuruvillac Murray b Dillon21820-- 
BKV Prasadc Lara b Dillon012-- 
Extras(9 b, 11 lb, 8 nb)28
Total(all out, 778 minutes, 183.4 overs)436
Fall of wickets:
1-0 (Laxman), 2-171 (Dravid), 3-345 (Tendulkar), 4-370 (Ganguly), 5-371 (Azharuddin), 6-382 (Sidhu), 7-401 (Mongia), 8-420 (Kuruvilla), 9-420 (Prasad), 10-436 (Joshi)
West Indies bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Walsh36   11710-2
Rose35   6931-5
Dillon35   6923-2
Hooper28   9530--
Chanderpaul8   1200--

West Indies second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SL Campbelllbw b Kuruvilla455711- 
SC Williamsc Kumble b Joshi128299452111 
S Chanderpaulc Azharuddin b Joshi792412959- 
BC Larac Azharuddin b Kumble1957681- 
CL Hooperc Laxman b Kumble1449471- 
RIC Holderc Laxman b Joshi92837-- 
+JR Murraynot out122934-- 
CEL Ambrosenot out10312811 
FA Rosedid not bat      
*CA Walshdid not bat      
M Dillondid not bat      
Extras(8 b, 13 lb, 3 nb)24
Total(6 wickets, 519 minutes, 131 overs)299
Fall of wickets:
1-25 (Campbell), 2-201 (Chanderpaul), 3-244 (Lara), 4-252 (Williams), 5-271 (Hooper), 6-273 (Holder)
India bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Prasad20   7380-1
Kuruvilla23   6471-1
Kumble40   91092-1
Joshi36   11573--
Ganguly3   060--
Laxman9   3210--

--> M Dillon made his debut in Test matches
--> RIC Holder (1) passed his previous highest score of 21 in Test matches
--> RIC Holder (1) passed 3500 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 53
--> FA Rose (1) passed his previous highest score of 14 in Test matches
--> NS Sidhu (1) passed his previous highest score of 124 in Test matches
--> NS Sidhu (1) 200 in 488 balls, 671 minutes with 19 fours and 1 six
--> NS Sidhu (1) passed 7500 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 183
--> SC Williams (2) passed his previous highest score of 62 in Test matches
--> SC Williams (2) made his first century in Test matches
--> SC Williams (2) passed 500 runs in Test matches when he reached 47
--> BC Lara (2) passed 10500 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 2
--> M Dillon made his debut for West Indies in First-Class matches
--> A Kumble retired hurt in the India first innings having scored 9 (team score 406/7) - he returned when the score was 420/9 (injured when he was hit on the groin by a ball from Dillon in the first ball of the 173rd over - he continued by facing the next 5 balls before retiring hurt)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive