Kent v South Africans
South Africa in England 1960
VenueSt Lawrence Ground, Canterbury on 13th, 15th, 16th August 1960 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSouth Africans won the toss and decided to bat
ResultSouth Africans won by 160 runs
UmpiresD Davies, H Elliott
Close of play day 1South Africans (1) 271/9 (Fellows-Smith 56*, McKinnon 0*)
Close of play day 2South Africans (2) 107/2 (Fellows-Smith 28*, O'Linn 0*)

South Africans first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*DJ McGlewlbw b Sayer39     
TL Goddardb Dixon51     
RA McLeanlbw b Jones31     
JE Pothecaryb Sayer0     
S O'Linnc and b Jones27     
PR Carlsteinb Jones0     
+CAR Duckworthlbw b Jones45     
JP Fellows-Smithnot out56     
GM Griffinc Prideaux b Cowdrey6     
HJ Tayfieldst Ufton b Jones3     
AH McKinnonnot out0     
Extras(4 b, 8 lb, 1 nb)13
Total(9 wickets, declared, 112 overs)271
Fall of wickets:
1-98, 2-98, 3-101, 4-150, 5-154, 6-161, 7-242, 8-267, 9-271
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Ridgway13   3370--
Brown19   2460--
Sayer14   5322--
Dixon36   10881--
Jones29   16505--
Cowdrey1   051--

Kent first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
PE Richardsonc Fellows-Smith b Pothecary0     
AH Phebeyc McGlew b McKinnon19     
RC Wilsonc Goddard b Tayfield31     
*MC Cowdreyc Duckworth b McKinnon8     
RM Prideauxc McGlew b McKinnon4     
PH Jonesc Pothecary b Tayfield71     
AL Dixonb McKinnon0     
+DG Uftonc Fellows-Smith b McKinnon16     
A Brownb McKinnon0     
DM Sayerc Pothecary b McKinnon16     
F Ridgwaynot out13     
Extras(7 b, 7 lb)14
Total(all out, 69.5 overs)192
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-41, 3-53, 4-67, 5-68, 6-68, 7-135, 8-144, 9-166, 10-192 (69.5 ov)
South Africans bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Pothecary10   3241--
Fellows-Smith2   1100--
Tayfield30   8712--

South Africans second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*DJ McGlewc Sayer b Cowdrey38     
TL Goddardc Dixon b Sayer41     
JP Fellows-Smithb Brown50     
S O'Linnc Brown b Dixon11     
RA McLeanc Cowdrey b Dixon22     
PR Carlsteinst Ufton b Jones29     
GM Griffinc Brown b Jones13     
+CAR Duckworthb Dixon14     
JE Pothecaryc and b Jones14     
HJ Tayfieldnot out0     
AH McKinnondid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 2 lb)4
Total(9 wickets, declared, 78.1 overs)236
Fall of wickets:
1-76, 2-92, 3-129, 4-159, 5-172, 6-202, 7-213, 8-234, 9-236 (78.1 ov)
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Ridgway7   560--
Brown10   1321--
Jones28   5973--
Sayer7   4171--
Cowdrey4   071--

Kent second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
PE Richardsonlbw b McKinnon54     
AH Phebeyrun out20     
AL Dixonb McKinnon4     
*MC Cowdreyrun out7     
RM Prideauxc McGlew b McKinnon0     
RC Wilsonc McGlew b Tayfield28     
PH Jonesrun out1     
+DG Uftonc Fellows-Smith b Tayfield12     
A Brownc and b Tayfield0     
DM Sayerb McKinnon12     
F Ridgwaynot out8     
Extras(2 b, 7 lb)9
Total(all out, 51.2 overs)155
Fall of wickets:
1-40, 2-46, 3-56, 4-56, 5-116, 6-120, 7-122, 8-123, 9-141, 10-155 (51.2 ov)
South Africans bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Pothecary5   0100--
Fellows-Smith2   0100--
Goddard9   2130--
Tayfield14   0513--

--> S O'Linn (1) passed 3000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 19
--> JP Fellows-Smith (1) passed 3500 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 4
--> TL Goddard (2) passed 1000 runs in First-Class matches for the season when he reached 27
--> S O'Linn did not score for 60 minutes when 0 in the South Africans second innings
--> PH Jones achieved his best innings bowling analysis in First-Class matches in the South Africans first innings (previous best was 4-34)
--> PH Jones achieved his first five wickets in an innings in First-Class matches in the South Africans first innings
--> DM Sayer reached 50 wickets in First-Class matches for the season when taking his 1st wicket in the South Africans first innings
--> AH McKinnon reached 50 wickets in First-Class matches for the season when taking his 3rd wicket in the Kent second innings
--> HJ Tayfield reached 100 wickets in First-Class matches for the season when taking his 1st wicket in the Kent second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive