Australia announce squad for third Test
by Cricket Australia

Event:South Africa in Australia 2016/17
Other links:Australian Squad

DateLine: 20th November 2016


The National Selection Panel have named the following 12-man squad for the third and final Commonwealth Bank Day-Night Test against South Africa starting on Thursday.


The squad includes six changes from the side that lost to South Africa in Hobart with Victoria’s Peter Handscomb, New South Wales’ Nic Maddinson and Queensland opener Matt Renshaw all set to make their debut in the top six.


Commenting on the changes Interim National Selector Trevor Hohns said: “Matt has established himself in a short period of time as one of the best young opening bats in the country. His form is currently very good and we see him as a very exciting prospect for the future.


“Peter’s form over the last couple seasons, and with Australia A, has been very consistent. He has a good all-round game and we think he is the type of player who could succeed at the next level.


“Nic is an exciting and talented young player and we feel now is the ideal time for him to be involved with the Australian team. He has the ability to break the game open and we think he will flourish in this environment.”


Tasmania’s Jackson Bird and South Australia’s Chadd Sayers come into the squad as the additional fast-bowlers.


“We consider Chadd and Jackson to be very good bowlers that also can bowl a large amount of overs in conjunction with Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood.


“Chadd bowls very well in Adelaide and Jackson is coming off a strong performance in his last Test match earlier in the year and both deserve their chance.”


Victorian gloveman Matthew Wade returns to the Test side having last played for Australia against India at Delhi in March 2013.


“Matthew has worked extremely hard on his keeping in the past few season and we consider it to have improved substantially. He is also a very valuable player with the bat and will add to the depth in our batting order.”


(Article: The opinions expressed in this article are those of the author only.
Copyright © 2016 Cricket Australia)